TOFT Autumn Crochet Workshop at Kew Gardens

Well isn’t 2022 just flying by. I can’t quite believe it’s the end of October already! I won’t lie, I’m quite excited about Autumn/Winter and being able to wear big jumpers and curl up by the fire. But before I get too excited about falling leaves and the big run up to *whispers* Christmas, I thought I’d share about my recent trip to the latest TOFT Flower Workshop.

So on the 20th September, I made my way to Kew Gardens in London to make the Zinnia with the TOFT team and some fellow TOFT fans. We spent 3 hours in the lovely Nash Conservatory surrounded by the beauty of the gardens at Kew. Not only did we receive the full kit to make our Zinnias, with gorgeous hand dyed yarn included, plus 3 patches, but it was also a great opportunity to meet fellow crocheters, chat to the TOFT team and try and get some hints as to what exciting things may be coming up. 

We began the workshop with Kerry giving us an intro to the inspiration behind the project and some starting tips for beginners and then we all set to work on the head and body of our Zinnias. Whilst we were busy beavering away, Kerry and the team walked round the tables chatting to us all, which was so lovely. 

Kerry then talked us through a couple of techniques for creating the petals for our Zinnias and showed us how to do each technique. This was definitely helpful for me, as sometimes I do struggle with just a pattern alone for some of the tricker or less familiar pattern elements.

And before we all headed out to explore the gardens for the afternoon, Kerry gave us some final tips on sewing up and adding details such as the eyes.

As someone who attends these workshops alone (I simply can’t convince any of my friends or loved ones to pick up a crochet hook!), I do get a bit nervous, but I needn’t have worried. I had such a lovely time and all the ladies on my table were so friendly and chatty. And now I really can’t wait for the Winter Flower Workshop in December!

A big thank you to the incredible TOFT team for putting on these wonderful events and bringing such a lovely bunch of likeminded people together for a few hours of crochet bliss.

Leave a comment